Style Icons: Freddie Mercury ♥

freddiemercurystyle
Once upon a time on a summer-y Friday evening in 2004, a truly monumental event occurred: I was introduced to an AMAZING band called Queen, promptly sparking an exciting love affair with their music which has continued until this very day!

Blown away by their unique, heavy-rock-infused-with-opera sound, I proceeded to devour every work of theirs that I could, and they ultimately provided the soundtrack to my teenage years.

But aside from playing a heavy role in my musical diet, I also found fashion and attitude inspiration from their inimitable frontman, Freddie Mercury. With intelligence, vision, charisma in spades and a remarkable flamboyancy, Freddie represented everything that I admired. From an early age, he believed he would be legendary, and despite his protruding teeth that the media would later endlessly ridicule him for and his unconvential appearance, his self-confidence was superior and his adamant belief of his worth NEVER wavered.

freddiemercuryeyesuit
freddiemercuryoutfit
freddiemercurylonghair

Queen’s guitarist Brian May often recounts how Freddie would adorn himself with a daily theatrical combination of sequins, leather, faux fur, feathers, glitter, aviators and printed leotards, even prior to achieving the smallest slice of fame: “Freddie ALWAYS dressed as though he was a famous somebody, long before he was a famous somebody. People would stare at him with quizzical expressions, as if to say “who IS that guy?” But he didn’t care. He always knew he was destined for greatness.” It’s an act of manifestation that Freddie himself would only concur with: “I always knew I was a star. And now, the rest of the world seems to agree with me.”

freddiemercurycape
freddiemercuryyellowjacket
freddiemercuryblackwhitesuit

His dedication to living life to the fullest was paramount, and his committment to creating wonder, empowering individuality and persisting the lifestyle of his dreams was exhilirating.  R.I.P. Freddie Mercury, and longlive the astounding magic that is QUEEN!

Queen Songs To Fall In Love With… :

x Bohemian Rhapsody. x Bicycle Race. x Crazy Little Thing Called Love. x Action This Dayx Body Language. x Tenement Funster. x Don’t Stop Me Now.

Great King Rat. x Death On Two Legs. x In The Lap Of The Gods.. Revisited.
x
 A Kind Of Magicx Killer Queen. x I’m In Love With My CarYou’re My Best Friend.

xoxo

7 responses to “Style Icons: Freddie Mercury ♥

  1. I see a little silhouetto of a man,

    Scaramouche, scaramouche will you do the fandango

    Thunderbolt and lightning, very very frightening me-

    Galileo,galileo

    Galileo galileo!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. A. – A.b.s.o.l.u.t.e. G-O-L-D!

  3. Killer Queen is my Favorite! Also, “Who Wants to Live Forever” – Lesser know but equally awesome my friends.

  4. Bohemian Rhapsody for the freakin’ win. I love that song so much. R.I.P Freddie Mercury!

  5. Don’t Stop Me Now!!!!

    I discovered Queen with that song (vía my dear music freak, AKA Javi).

    Freddy Mercury was and still is 100% AWESOME!

  6. I was introduced to Queen by MrIcy and I LOVE them. I want to ride my bicycle and Fat Bottomed Girls are my favs.

  7. Queen are the best. RIP Freddie and thank you for this post, I hope many more people continue to discover the magic that is Queen. I have listened to them for the 15 years and nothing even comes close to their music.

Leave a Reply

