What The Frock?! : 05/12/09 (Or, The Day I Met Mike Portnoy Of Dream Theater!) ♥

What’s ‘What The Frock’? Upon compiling feedback for Frock & Roll, the undisputed winner of the ‘What Would You Like To See More Of?’ competition was “style” photographs of what I was wearing. (Gosh, who would’ve thought?!) I find this both utterly astonishing and magnificently terrifying, particularly as I believe that I have roughly the same amount of fashion credibility as say, a dish cloth. BUT! You ask, and I deliver!

The Daily Frock - 05/12/09 (Or, The Day I Met Mike Portnoy Of Dream Theater!) ♥
It all started off as a very typical Saturday morning: gleefully munching away on Turkish bread smothered in peanut butter, replying to e-mails and basically trying to decide exactly how I wanted to spend my day, when all of a sudden my boyfriend Tom bolted into the room and exclaimed “would you like to go to Drummer’s Dream in Belmore and meet Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater?!”  

In terms of questioning, it was similar to asking a five year-old at a birthday party if they’d like a second serving of cake: COMPLETELY REDUNDANT. Having loved Dream Theater since I first heard Fatal Tragedy as a teenager, I immediately threw on my latest favourite purchase, and bolted out the door!

The Daily Frock - 05/12/09 (Or, The Day I Met Mike Portnoy Of Dream Theater!) ♥

What I’m Wearing:

x Strapless dress and belt, Target. It took a ridiculous amount of bobby pins to keep this dress hoisted into place all day! Upon trying it on, I very lazily foolishly assumed that it would be perfectly okay to slip it on over my then current outfit to test if the size was suitable. WELL. As Homer Simpson would conclude (while possibly smashing a plate over his forehead!), WRONG! It was at least a size too big. Lesson learned: try everything on and PROPERLY!
x Review jacket
x Black ballet flats & stockings from New Zealand
x Sparkly musical note necklace (a gift from my best friend; I wear it every day!) and silver bangle

The Daily Frock - 05/12/09 (Or, The Day I Met Mike Portnoy Of Dream Theater!) ♥Behold,  Mr. Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater!

Meeting him was a terrific moment. He was cute and funny and friendly and charming, and I was nervous and giggly and smiley and lame. Ha! He very kindly signed a drum skin for Tom (who is also a drummer!) and a DVD for me, posed for photographs, and politely thanked us as we nearly floated out of the room.

Dream Theater - 05/12/09 ♥
That evening, we saw Dream Theater live in concert, and it was PHENOMENAL. And not just because they opened with the theme from Psycho!

Oh, what a day. Possible contender for one of the best of all time? Absolutely! If there was such a thing as a Superb-O-Meter, it would definitely have given it a full rating!

xoxo

15 responses to “What The Frock?! : 05/12/09 (Or, The Day I Met Mike Portnoy Of Dream Theater!) ♥

  1. That is so awesome!!! I want to meet Mike Portnoy too! They came here to Mexico one time and the concert was impressive, I’ve been their fan for a long long time now. You lucky girl!

  2. Alekz – Oh, thank-you so much! 😀 Their concerts are massively impressive: I saw them in January of 2008 as well, and they were amazing! Thanks for your lovely comment 🙂

  3. I love your dress, I think that I really need to get a floral print dress in my wardrobe.

    Mike Portnoy! You are so lucky, Alekz is totally jealous XD.

  4. Julie – I am addicted to florals! And I was totally sold on this dress because it was reduced to $25, whee! And ah, I was 99.9% sure that Alekz was one of your friends when I saw his comment – how awesome! 😀 That’s so cute!

  5. Ahh that’s so awesome!!! You look too cute, I love seeing The Daily Frock posts =)

  6. AND you did all that while looking completely amazing! Sounds like a great day.

  7. Wow wow lucky!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I haven’t heard of their music before but if I met one of my fav celebs I’d probably die!!!!!

  8. That dress is so pretty! I love strapless things, they’re so feminine, but as a D-cup I’ve never been able to find a strapless bra that does anything at all…

  9. Oh, super cute outfit Corrine.

    I love the dress- it’s stunning! x

  10. Amazing. You look so pretty!

  11. Ayesha – Awww, thank-you lovely! I try and rattle off as many as I can, but I always feel a bit nervous about doing them. I mean, I still can’t get over the whole “someone wants to see photos of ME? And what I’M wearing? But… I’m the most unstylish person in the world!” thing haha, but I try!

    Miss Peregrin – Thanks a bunch, miss!

    Brooke – Teehee, a lot of people that I’ve spoken to haven’t heard of them, but they’re fantastic! And yes, I definitely understand that feeling 😉 The whole time I was in front of him I was like ”okay, breathe, BREATHE…”

    Limespark – Please Feed The Bears – I know, strapless bras are evil! I have the same issue, which is why I just wore an ordinary one and threw a jacket over the top so that you couldn’t see the straps ;D

    Alex – Thanks Axe-y! Do you think it’s Burr-licious? Hahahaha, I can’t believe that I just said that!

    Lauren – Such sweet words! Blush, blush! Thank-you!

  12. I seriously dig floral dresses, esp. with black blazers! Fabulousness. 😀

  13. just loooverrrrly my dear!

  14. You look GORGEOUS! I love the dress and stockings and cardi. How fun x

Leave a Reply

