“HELP! I’ve Lost My Blogging Mojo! And I Checked, It’s NOT In The Last Place That I Looked…” ♥

carriebradshawlaptop
It all happens so suddenly, so strangely; one minute you’re posting away lovingly, filling the pages of your blog with pretty words and nurturing it with the kind of adoration and affection usually bestowed upon your beloved, and then bam! As if from nowhere, invisible mojo-thieving pixies seemingly stop by and abduct your inspiration in the night. You curse, you shake your fist, but alas, your writing inspiration? It’s GONE! Well, temporarily, anyway.

Don’t despair! Don’t give up hope yet! There IS a solution! (And no, it’s not some kind of magical fly spray equivalent for pixies, although, word on the street is that one is being developed. Shhh! You heard it here first.)

Here’s four common “help, I’ve lost my blogging mojo!” type afflictions, and exactly how to cure them!

Affliction #1: “I Just Can’t Be Assed!”-itis

The Symptoms: Tiredness, feelings of mild resentment towards blogging/computers in general, guilt, and the increasing urge to spend copious amounts of time watching Gossip Girl/shopping/doing anything that’s not even the closet bit related to blogging.
The Prescription: Watch Gossip Girl! GO shopping! Take a break from all things website-y and allow yourself to do so without feeling like the worst person in the world, because you’re NOT! “I just can’t be assed!”-itis strikes all of us down at some point, and the only sanity-saving solution is to decide to step away from the computer, and return to it when you’re feeling refreshed and motivated to write again. (And you will!)

carriebradshawlaptop2

Affliction #2: “I Don’t Know What To Write About” Syndrome

The Symptoms: Empty pages. Lack of content.
The Prescription: Get back in touch with your original reasons for starting your blog: what are your interests? What excites you? Donatella Versace’s tan? Monkeys who can do The Hustle? What haven’t you investigated, discussed or tried?

Still running empty? Ask for ideas! Ask your readers which topics they’d like you to cover, ask your friends what they think would make for an interesting piece, ask your siblings, your parents, your teachers or even the person you buy your coffee from in the morning!

Affliction #3: The “I Know What I Want To Write About, But Do You Think That I Can Manage To Get The Words Out Today? Ha! And Also, NO!” Infection

The Symptoms: A sequence of events: head. Desk. BANG.
The Prescription: I know, I know. The words are on the tip of your tongue but, very rudely, they’re refusing to come out. Those devils! The treatment? It’s very similar to that of affliction #1: take a break! Have a shower, clean your bedroom, put together an inspiration board –anything – and just let the ideas and words come to you organically. (Keep a notepad nearby so that you can easily scribble them down as they do!)

Real Life Example: In the past, I’ve struggled to nut out an article because despite a flurry of sentences buzzing around in my mind, they just couldn’t seem to present themselves when I attempted to type them. So, I’ve sat. And then looked out the window. And then continued sitting. And then tried to type out another sentence. And sat some more. And then opened up Twitter. After another hour or so of this, I closed down my computer in a frustrated huff, and decided to rearrange my wardrobe because hey, at least that way, SOMETHING would get done! It worked: within half an hour of sorting, not only were my dresses all neat and tidy and exactly where they were supposed to be (on their hangers, and definitely not in a heap on the floor!), in that time, I’d managed to mentally prepare everything that I needed to say. Score!

Affliction #4: The “Why Bother When Nobody’s Reading It Anyway?!” Cough

The Symptoms: Tumbleweeds.
The Prescription: If you blog, it’s inevitable that you’ll experience wild thrills (particularly when you’re first starting out!) in the web statistics theme park: there will be days where it will feel as though the only person reading your work is the cat beside you and others where it will seem as though the entire suburb and all of its neighbouring areas are reading it – it happens, and at worst it can be deflating, and at best, EXHILARATING!

If you’re not feeling the commenting or visitor love, ask yourself the following questions: have you told anyone that you know about your project? Are you leaving comments on other websites to gain some new readers? (It works! Most of the websites I frequent today are run by people who have left a comment here at some stage or another, leading me to stumble across their pages and fall madly in love!) Do you seek out new people to follow on Twitter? What have you done to increase the chance that somebody will find you today?

Tell us! Have you ever lost your blogging mojo? What do you do when those productivity-stealing pixies drop by?

xoxo

10 responses to ““HELP! I’ve Lost My Blogging Mojo! And I Checked, It’s NOT In The Last Place That I Looked…” ♥

  1. I’ve totally lost my blogging mojo! It’s partially #2 and #3 plus my health gets in the way. I’m glad you wrote this, it’s very inspiring. I definitely want to get back to writing more posts with substance (though the fun posts are great motivation to not give up)

  2. I think that we’ve all been there. the most important thing is that blogging should be seen as something fun (if you don’t intend to make it into a business) and that if you force your writing, people will know.

    Also, like you said, seek out people. no one will know you exist unless you show yourself. I’m happy with few people IRL knowing about my personal blog, but when I launch my business (eventually) I’ll tell everyone I know and their grandmother about my website.

    Great tips Corrine!

  3. I don’t even blog & I loved this article. Your writing style is so much fun to read!

  4. Rachael – Thank-you so much! I adore Glass Of Win and am very much looking forward to its return! (But enjoy your break; we all need one from time to time!)

    Julie – I couldn’t have said it better myself, and thank-you muchly!

    Ayesha – Aww, Ayesha! Gosh, you always say the sweetest things, thank-you so very much! But you did have a blog, didn’t you? Because my memory appears to have temporarily gone on holiday (d’oh!), I’ve forgotten the exact title (oh, how embarrassing! My apologies!), but I remember that it was ‘Broke’ something and about living fabulously on a budget, wasn’t it? I used to love it!

    Thank-you all for your lovely (and as always, interesting!) feedback!

    xoxo

  5. Love it, all of this is so true and it’s getting bookmarked when I get home!

    Currently I’m experiencing the unfortunate opposite – My blogging mojo appears to have come back with a vengeance when I don’t have the time to dedicate to it!

  6. This is great (and hilarious!) advice! I’m in the process of starting up my own blog, so I’ll be sure to save this for future reference 🙂

  7. Oh yes I relate to this. I have a blog and I do blog I guess but I can’t really write seriously about this because mine is just random thoughts it’s nothing serious and it’s definitely not good writing.. If I have nothing to say I usually take a break and come back to it. It doesn’t bother me if I post regularly or not. One day I’d love to have a FABULOUS blog like yours Corrine xo

  8. I think that over the last 2 months I’ve experienced each of these at different times. I appreciate the great advice!

    XO Piper

  9. I love your blog!

  10. You’re fantastic. Loved this advice.

Leave a Reply

