What The Frock?! : 10/07/10 ♥

What’s ‘What The Frock’? Upon compiling feedback for Frock & Roll, the undisputed winner of the ‘What Would You Like To See More Of?’ competition was “style” photographs of what I was wearing. (Gosh, who would’ve thought?!) I find this both utterly astonishing and magnificently terrifying, particularly as I believe that I have roughly the same amount of fashion credibility as say, a dish cloth. BUT! You ask, and I deliver!

SDC12982

Your good luck wishes and don’t-trip-over-your-dress thoughts on Friday must have worked, because guess what?! I didn’t take a tumble in my bridesmaid dress at the wedding I attended on Saturday night, hooray!

THANK-YOU. I did wade through the bride-to-be’s dog’s bowl of water with it, however, and walk into a seating barricade in front of everyone at the church, but, then again, the newly qualified preachers did forget to instruct the bride and groom to kiss eachother, were wearing sneakers underneath their business attire, dropped their speech cards numerous times, forgot their words and asked the photographer for cues about the traditional sequence of events involved in official wedding procedures (because it was only their second wedding and weren’t sure of them!), so it was an interesting event all around!

corrinewtf1007103
And then there was the reception. Oh, the reception! It was beautiful. Except for the fact that I absolutely can’t dance and apart from while cleaning the house and listening to KC & The Sunshine Band or when in the company of my sister, I generally avoid it. But that certainly wasn’t going to happen on Saturday night, oh no! At least six people attempted (and succeeded!) to drag me onto the dance floor and I stumbled about and twirled awkwardly like I imagine a seal might if it was thrown into a similar situation.

“I can’t dance!” I would wail to my boyfriend/the groom’s brother/the bride’s brother/the bride’s cousins/ex work colleagues. “Yes you can,” my boyfriend would insist. “EVERYBODY can dance, dance is just an expression of rhythm!” “Yes, and I have expressed my lack of it MANY TIMES!” I would cry. “Why can’t you dance?!” The groom’s brother/my wedding partner asked me. “You’re a woman, surely you can dance?” The poor guy. I didn’t want to squash his stereotype of the perfect woman by admitting that I can barely microwave a packet of noodles without them flying everywhere, let alone complete the waltz or anything, so laughed and shuffled about to Aerosmith’s I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing while thinking about how slipping over in my high heels would 100% complete the embarrassment trifecta instead.

SDC13001
What I’m Wearing:

x Very high hair and a goofy expression! Curse you, locker that contained my handbag (and thus, my camera) for most of the night! If it weren’t for you, I would definitely have more photos, and possibly one with a less silly expression. Possibly. In other unimportant news, I think I need a haircut. Fringey is reaching so-long-that-I’m-almost-blind status.
x Blue chiffon dress, Alfred Angelo
x Second-hand faux fur jacket
x Diamante` hair pin and jewellery, gifts from the bride
x Silver bridal heels, Ebay 

SDC13012

Fairy lights!

How was your weekend?

8 responses to “What The Frock?! : 10/07/10 ♥

  1. Aww you looks so pretty with your hair up, me likey!

    I “can” dance but I have no tecnique whatsoever and I end up being held up by my partner (who usually can dance like the devil).

    My weekend was awesome! Spain won the World Cup which is awesome in itslef! My BFF came back from Madrid and got my things from London and Paris. I sealed my first webdesign job as a freelancer!

  2. You look lovely! 🙂 I love the up-do with your bangs too!

    Sounds like you had a lovely weekend 🙂

    my weekend begins today! haha (and i’m spending it catching up on blogs!)

    x

  3. Julie – Awww, thanks Julie! It felt really weird to have it that high up and that tight and wasn’t sure about it all day, so thank-you! And HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on Spain winning the World Cup and on scoring your first freelance job, well done! 😀

    Cheray – Thank-you very much! 🙂 And enjoy your belated weekend!

  4. Your dress is a lovely colour 🙂

  5. Oh you look so beautiful! 🙂

    I am also envious of that jacket, I want it! x

  6. Katie – Thank-you! And sound the triumphant trumpets, because I think this is actually the first ‘What The Frock?!’ outfit where I’m not wearing any black! 😉

    Alex – Oh, Alex. You always have such a wonderful way with words! I hope you had a great time in China (I want to hear about it!), and THANK-YOU!

  7. Oh looks like you had such a great time!

    And that hair pin is beautiful, so sparkly!

    I had a nice weekend, thanx! The lebanese restaurant was as good as I remembered!

  8. I can’t dance good either!

    I can however dance like a whore when paid in cash.

    But thats not really dancing.

Leave a Reply

