Learning To Be Happy With What You Have To Be Happy With ♥

dreawbarrymore

“Well gee, THAT’S a mouthful of a confusing title, Corrine.”

Yes! It is! But it was completely inspired by the musical excellence that is King Crimson’s Happy With What You Have To Be Happy With, so surely we can forgive it, right?!

*gulps*

ANYWAY.

Bigger! Better! Brighter! Shinier! Newer! More, more,more!  We tick off goals, lap up the latest models of our beloved technology products hungrily and seem to be CONSTANTLY accelerating towards becoming the greatest, most accomplished, successful version of ourselves that we can possibly be. And this is terrific! But while we’re often hurtling along full throttle, focused on the big, delicious picture on the horizon, how regularly do we take a moment to stop and admire the beautiful contents of our current surroundings?

When you last achieved/received something spectacular, how long did you savour it for? An hour? A day? A few minutes, before thinking okay, this garden gnome is FANTASTIC, but I still want/need..”  and quickly reverting back to your mental to-do list? Sure, evolution is splendid, but don’t we owe it to ourselves to enjoy the feeling of being truly content with what we already have? Yes! How satisfied can we be if we’re flitting from one object or moment to the next? Not very!  

King Crimson, you were spot. on. You do have to learn to be happy with what you have to be happy with! And although you’re definitely referring to the ingredients of a song and not a burnt cake, if your sentiment could be applied to life in general, I imagine that it would translate into the following steps:

x Express Gratitude For The Simplest Of Items

There’s a bed for you to sleep in! A roof over your head! A tap that will dispense water to you whenever it’s required! Pretty nifty stuff, huh?!

x Ban Yourself From Making Comparisons To Others And Their Circumstances

So they’re living in a penthouse, and you’re living with your parents. They’ve completed three degrees, while you’re pondering your next move. They’re convinced that satay sauce tastes perfect with a dash of sweet chilli sauce, but you’re much more of a tabasco sauce fan. Honestly, stop! Who cares?!  Don’t reduce your life and the experiences and knowledge that you possess by comparing it to someone else’s, or believe that their choices are superior to yours! (And besides, satay sauce with a splash of tabasco sauce sounds INGENIOUS!)

x Identitify Your Triggers For Goal-Kicking Despondency

Whenever you start to feel as though you’re not doing/seeing/owning enough, examine the cause. What triggers you to feel that way? A high-end fashion magazine? Television? A conversation with a neighbour? Perhaps you don’t need it?

x Make A List Of Your Monthly Achievements

“But that would make me feel like a total narcissistic twit!” You might exclaim. Oh, please. It’s not narcissistic to quietly applaud yourself and remember the tremendous things that you’ve conquered or attended, you know! And it doesn’t have to be on display for anyone to see: you could keep a secret notebook and create a list of your weekly/monthly/yearly/lifetime achievements to revel in whenever you’re needing a happiness boost, or to refer to when you’re full of self-doubt.

Go! Take a look around! Have a peek at your belongings and the life that you’re living: is learning to be happy with what you have to be happy with something that deserves a higher priority than your next target? How do you stay content?

xoxo

21 responses to “Learning To Be Happy With What You Have To Be Happy With ♥

  1. Yay! So true!

    I’m a big fan of these kind of reminders, we need repetition to finally have these words carved in us, they need to be part of us!

  2. Thank you for the reminder. I’m so bad at being present. I like to think of myself as a grateful person but after reading this I know that I’m nowhere near as grateful as I should be… I’m always looking forward instead of looking around me. Thanks for keeping things in perspective.

  3. Euforilla – Absolutely!

    Amy – You’re welcome; thank-YOU for your kind words!

  4. Ugh, comparing is the worst! My mum used to compare me all the time to this other girl at school. It took me a really long time and losing that girl as a friend to stop comparing myself to her. Same thing with my other ex-friend.

    I always like to look back at my notebooks and my blog to see how much I’ve done. It might be little things but they add up to a lot of achievements.

    Thanks for the reminder n-n.

  5. Corrine, this is amazing!

    I think everything you write is amazing. haha. But yess.

    You covered some very true and amazing points.

    Gratitude is so important but I think we forget about it sometimes.

  6. Great article! I completely agree with you. Learning to be happy with what I have is a lesson that I have learnt over the last couple of years – and you know what? I have learnt it well and I’m proud of myself for that.

    Everything I own in the world can be packed away into a tiny little car, and I have exactly four fancy expensive things – my laptop, my sewing machine, my bike and my car (which I am selling). And I am happy how I am.

    The other day I started lusting after a newer, fancier sewing machine, but then I thought “Hey! I HAVE a sewing machine. It works. It does exactly what I need it to! I don’t need a new one!” so I gave my sewing machine a spring clean and banished all thoughts of a computerised model with 2 billion features I don’t need. Woohoo!

  7. I love love love this.

  8. So true 🙂 Nothing makes you appreciate the basics in life like being locked out of the house when you are busting to use the toilet… the simple things we take for granted are pretty damn awesome!

  9. To be honest I feel content and grateful everyday for everything. I’m so lucky and fortunate to have all that I do and my greatest wish is that everyone had the same fortune – good health, food/shelter, love/friendship 😀

  10. I don’t always find it easy to be happy with my life and what I have but it’s become significantly easier once you’ve had to go through a couple of bitter month.

    I’m very content with who I am now and it took a long while to figure it out. Life is so much better without jealous and envy!

  11. Hi ya! Just found your blog from your Nuffnang post… well written =)

  12. What a great post, I agree sometimes we need to just take a step back and apprieciate the life that we have and the people we have in it

  13. Great post. I’ve been doing some of the things that you have mentioned in the list and find myself happier for it.

  14. I found you via the Modern Woman’s Guide to Survival and just wanted to thank you for such a well written, funny post. Too often we’re focsued on the big picture instead of realising how lucky we are. Thanks for the reminder.

  15. Love this, lady! I am a big believer in not comparing myself to others, although this is uber tough sometimes (i.e. I am wishing my blog was as awesome as yours right now). Keep up the motivational words, I’m lapping them up. x

  16. Hi gorgeous girl,

    I love this! You have such a positive, uplifting tone to all of your posts, your blog is always such a pleasure to read 🙂

    I especially love the tip about not comparing ourselves to others… it reminds me of this beautiful quote by spiritual guru Osho, from The Book of Understanding: “In this world, it is very difficult to find a happy person, because nobody is fulfilling the conditions for being happy. The first condition is that one has to drop all comparison. Drop all these stupid ideas of being superior and inferior. You are neither superior nor inferior. You are simply yourself! There exists no one like you, no one with whom you can be compared. Then, suddenly, you are at home.”

    Love Laura xx

  17. i love this! i try to take some time every few days to express my gratitude and appreciation for what i already have.

    & no, comparing ourselves to the others around is not cool. i’ve come a long way and finally learned that…

    kisses!

  18. I love this post! I have had it drummed it into me my whole entire life that the most important thing is to be happy! Smile and the world smiles with you, cry and you cry alone….

    I don’t think comparing yourself to others is necessarily bad…seeing what others has achieved can be inspiring and motivating. It is only when envy sets in that the consequences may be negative.

    Moral of the story? Be happy with what you have, but aim for more if this is what you want 🙂

  19. I love this post!! It has such a wonderful message! This is something that I definitely strive for in my life as well. Such lovely tips! I especially like the one about not comparing yourself to others. That is something that I struggle with sometimes.

  20. More more more! (clothes) That’s me. I savor great/wanted things … probably until after I’ve worn them. Le Sigh.

    But at least I’ll always savor my BF. .. That came out wrong… 😉

    #2: I’m not the only one who doesn’t measure up? Phew. At least there’s that.

    #3: It’s sometimes tiredness, usually boredom / depression / jealousy, etc. But it also feels like it boils down to the fact that there’s SO much wonderful fashion (even so much wonderful CHEAP fashion) that I’ve gotta collect!

    #4: I should do that!

    … I guess I don’t stay content. Maybe a desire for more success makes me binge on buying. Blah, what?

    Shiny!

    There, that’s better. Hahaha.

    Great post, btw.

  21. thank you so much for this.

    i’ve just written a post on my blog about jealousy, and how envious I am in particular of other bloggers and how well their blogs do and all their followers.

    it’s difficult not to be jealous of other people who seem to be achieving your dreams.

    but this puts everything into perspective.

    and hey, my journalism teacher high-fived me on friday. surely that’s more inspirational than a trip to fashion week? :]]]

    Charlotte xxx

Leave a Reply

