Thank Frock It’s Friday! ♥

If you’re clicking here for the first time, WELCOME! Every Friday we celebrate the fact that – ding, ding! – it’s Friday, and our favourite things (a delicious sandwich? BROOMSTICKS?! Okay, probably not the latter…) from the week that was. Here’s what I’m currently loving!

x My Boyfriend, Tom – Oh, I KNOW! Mush, mush, mush! (I’m sorry!) The man, honestly though, is my absolute saviour. On Thursday I realized that I was flying to New Zealand in 24 hours and that I hadn’t packed my bags or, uh, organized anything, and that I wouldn’t be home until 12.30AM that night to do so. (Cue Chic singing ”freak out!”) WELL. When I finally arrived home, there was a note saying ‘’hello, my little muddle-headed wombat. YOU DRIVE ME CRAZY SOMETIMES!’’, but he’d arranged everything. Packed my suitcase. Fished out my passport and left it on the table. Organised a shuttle service to pick me up from our apartment at 6.00AM and take me directly to the airport. I don’t think there’s enough words to be able to describe how grateful I am for him daily, but I do know this: I owe him one huge, huge souvenir! 

x Wellington, New Zealand – It feels so strange, so surreal and SO heartwarmingly good to be in this city! I’m not sure what it is, but there’s a vibrancy and charm to Wellington that’s completely unique: it’s fairly small, but it doesn’t seem small, and it’s extremely well laid-out. (I love Sydney, but I often think that it must be such a confusing destination for tourists!) 

Wellington, Wellington Harbour, Wellington Ocean

Wellington alive

Wellington, Wellington, Wellington. Isn’t she splendid?! 

x Unwinding – Life has been FULL-ON and fast-paced for close to two years now (and it’s entirely my fault; I have a fear of regrets and therefore attempt to cram as much as possible into each day!), so having some downtime this weekend has been perfect. It’s been super-strange to be dining solo (have I mentioned that I’m holidaying alone? I am!) in restaurants full of couples and groups, but it’s also been precisely what I’ve needed. (And besides… it’s good to learn to be comfortable on your own!)

x Other Little Things – The James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel (it’s l-o-v-e-l-y!)Russell Brand’s touching tribute to Amy Winehouse and thoughts on addiction (”all addicts, regardless of the substance or their social status, share a consistent and obvious symptom; they’re not quite present when you talk to them”; Aunty Mena’s Vegetarian Cafe` on Cuba Street; consistently bumping into someone I know every. single. time. I travel (it’s bizarre!); wise cracks from border security (‘’Oh, so you’re a writer? Well, how about you WRITE your date of birth on this card, then!’’);  $130 boots reduced to $60; unexpected ”let’s catch up!” messages; The Runaways; capturing the everyday moments; strolling around aimlessly; sniffing and whiffing the concoctions in Lush Cosmetics; guzzling lemon and honey; and knowing that I TWO MORE FULL DAYS here! Yes! 

Suggestions For The Week Ahead 

x TAKE YOURSELF ON A MINIATURE BREAK! (Did you know that was coming?! I bet you did!) Truly, START PLANNING ONE! It’s insanely easy to fret about money (we all have bills!) and to feel guilty about indulging in ourselves (this I don’t understand), but sometimes you just have to throw caution to the wind and do exactly what you need to do. (Even if other people don’t get it! When I told my father that I was planning a trip back to Wellington he was excited, but perplexed: ‘’Oh, cool! So you’re going with Tom?’’ Me: ‘’Nope!’’ Dad: ”So you’re catching up with your friends from primary school then?” Me: ”Maybe! But I haven’t planned anything.” Dad: ”So… you’re travelling alone?” Me: ”Yes!” Dad: *silence*) Our mind, body and soul are three of the most important friends that we’ll ever have. If we don’t look after them, they have an incredible way of reminding us who’s boss! (I’m 110% convinced that’s why I’m battling a cold at the moment.)

x Stuff the store-bought scrubs or body washes (I can’t believe that some of these now cost $8. I mean, WHAT?! Those pennies are better spent on your future getaway!) and whip up your own. All you need is olive oil, brown sugar, and if you’re feeling ultra-fancy, some essential oils!

The weekend! It’s here! What’s making YOU happy?

xoxo

Leave a Reply

