Thank Frock It’s Friday! ♥

purplelips

Shock! Gasp! Guilt! A week’s zoomed by without a SINGLE Frock & Roll update! A-r-g-h! (If the Bad Blogger police swoop in and arrive soon, I’m NOT here, okay?! Eek! Hide me!)

I’m several kinds of sorry about the tumbleweeds! Sometimes, as I’m sure you know all too well, life just happens, filling our schedules with unexpected plans (and colds. BLURGH!) and making us blink with confusion over where exactly the days have whirled off to. But, let’s not natter about time. It’s the weekend! Let’s gab about what we’re presently enchanted with! (Personally, I adore it when people slip the word “enchanted” into conversations. I asked somebody how they were the other evening and they boomed “I’m feeling ENCHANTED!” How unexpectedly great is that?!)

Glitter Wallet, Glitter Heart Wallet, Sparkly Wallet

x Deux Lux’s ‘Game Of Hearts’ Wallet – It’s not every week that I’d nominate an accessory as a highlight of, well, the week (jeez, try uttering that mouthful three times!), but this baby’s a BEAUTY! Glimmering, gorgeous and an absolute steal at $19.99, I’m seriously considering purchasing duplicates of it out of fear for how I’ll eventually survive when it falls apart. (Which is so silly that it actually pains me to re-read this sentence, but ugh! I’m smitten with it! I can’t even bring myself to use it yet!)

x Empty Planes – Look, I love people, but is there anything grander when flying than boarding a plane and discovering that it’s virtually empty? I THINK NOT! (Psst! I’m beginning to think that the trick to landing – ba doom chi! – one of these is sacrificing sleep for a 6.00AM flight, because each time I’ve opted for a super-early departure, I’ve winded up having an entire row of seats to myself. Try it next time you’re holidaying and share your findings!)

x Re-visiting The Past… And Being Content To Leave It Behind – Have you ever – recently or otherwise – re-visited the area that you grew up in? It can be s-s-strange! On Monday, the second-to-last day of my holiday in Wellington, I decided to jump on a bus and trundle through my former neck of the woods, Lower Hutt. It’d been 12 years since I’d set foot anywhere near there, and I kind of expected to feel a teensy bit emotional about the whole experience (what can I say?! I’m a sentimental old git!), but mostly? I just felt grateful. Extremely grateful for the moments that I’d spent there with my family, but also grateful for evolution. (Because what a boring tale we’d have to tell if everything stayed the same!)

x Other Little Things – Rocky Road ice-creams; sitting in front of Wellington harbour on a spectacularly warm afternoon (well, until I was SPAT ON, that is! Oh, life. You’re full of surprises!); dreaming of launching a size 11+ footwear company (of course, I don’t have the foggiest idea about design, but my brain’s been obsessively tinkering away with the idea!); mock “chicken” laksa; the fact that Air New Zealand had (hyperventilate!) Stone Sour on their audio playlists; when Tom says “I read your blog today!” (you must understand the cuteness of this; he NEVER ventures on the internet! He’s a cabinet maker and the digital world absolutely baffles him); The Midnight Juggernauts’ So Many Frequencies (it’s old, old, old, but new to me!); dusting my eyes in lilac; and enormous earrings!

Suggestions For The Week Ahead

x Spend a week carting your camera around with you everywhere and document the everyday! Snap as many photos as you can, from varying heights, unusual angles, and of unexpected objects. As Robin Williams’ character in the movie One Hour Photo concludes, “most people don’t take snapshots of the little things. The used Band-Aid, the guy at the gas station, the wasp on the Jell-O. People don’t take pictures of these things. But these are the things that make up the true picture of our lives.”

Bake a deliciously sweet treat for a weeknight in. (When was the last time your kitchen was filled with the scent of freshly made cookies? For me, it’s been ages! I’m going to surprise Tom with a pudding this week.) There’s something oddly therapeutic about the process, and plus, once you’re done, you’ll have dessert! W-i-n! 

xoxo

6 responses to “Thank Frock It’s Friday! ♥

  1. I really love Deux Lux! I have 2 bags from them that have held up really well. They make a lot of stuff for Urban Outfitters but it’s slightly lower quality. That wallet is adorable! USE IT! 🙂

  2. I love your wallet!

  3. Wait… why were you spat on? :-S I’m baking chocolate mud cupcakes today 🙂

  4. Lara – I’d never even heard of them until I started snooping through Modcloth’s clearance sale, and I’m so glad that I did! I was really surprised by the quality; it’s probably the first item that I’ve bought which actually looks better IN person! (And I just changed all of my cards over from my old wallet into it… FINALLY!)

    M.P. – Thank-you, thank-you!

    Amelia – Ha! I was perched under a ledge from a public museum and a few schoolboys spotted an opportunity 😉 GROSS! (What’s worse is that it took me at least two minutes to work out what it was… I thought it was water, until I looked closely at my dress and realised that it was saliva! SO icky.) And yum-o! Enjoy!

  5. Consider your suggestions for the week ahead done!

    Well, as good as done – they are my kinds of activities – taking photos of everything and baking 🙂

    I have been a little slack on the photo side of things but never fear – you’ve inspired me to try harder! xo

  6. Oh my goodness I know! How the weeks fly. I need to know where to that lipstick from!!!

Leave a Reply

