Thank Frock It’s Friday! ♥

If you’re clicking here for the first time, WELCOME! Every Friday we celebrate the fact that – ding, ding! – it’s Friday, and our favourite things (an exquisite stack of pancakes? Extension cords?! Okay, it’s probably not the latter…) from the week that was. Here’s what I’m currently loving!

polkadotheels
x Being Invited To My First Fashion Show (And Being Asked To Sit FRONT ROW!)
WHAT?! Who?! (Oh, if only my initial reaction had been that concise, instead of “ARE YOU CONTACTING THE CORRECT PERSON?!” and ”jeeez. I’m going to need a makeover!”)

Wonderfully and hilariously (who knew that a muppet like me would ever be asked to sit front row anywhere?!), I’ve been asked to attend Sydney’s Mercedes-Benz Fashion Festival next week as a – ha! – ‘VIB’ (Very Important Blogger).

“Pick your favourite show from the line-up and we’ll pop you in the front row!” They said. “Is this a belated April Fool’s Day prank?!’‘ I was tempted to type back. Instead, I’ve VERY excitedly opted to see Myer’s ‘Big Is Beautiful’ performance (because as much as I adore swimsuits and gorgeous, frothy frocks, that’s the show that felt the most ‘me’), and it’s happening on TUESDAY! $%&#!

x Celebrating 7 Years With My Boyfriend – Excuse my sentimentality, but ack! It’s my seventh anniversary with my boyfriend Tom today, and I’m so, so stupidly happy about it!

6016_134835045129_507245129_3202449_2925435_n
A photograph of us from 2005!

What can I say?! He’s just an incredible person. The kind of guy who genuinely seems to think “how can I make Corrine’s life better?”, and loves me, enormous, annoying flaws and all. I’m opinionated, and when I sit on the couch and mutter things like “oh, of course the lead character in this music video is a size 6 blonde. She couldn’t possibly be a plus-size African American girl or an Asian with braces, could she? Eye roll!”, he doesn’t smother me with the nearest cushion, but smiles and thinks! (Probably “I wish she’d shut the __ up”, but still!) He’s the most hardworking, sincere and thoughtful person that I know, and above all, he’s ALWAYS there for me. (Which, to me, is kind of the ultimate test of a relationship. It’s easy to be by someone’s side when everything’s going swimmingly, but what about when things don’t, or you wake up in the morning looking like a total scarecrow?! How a partner reacts to these incidents says FAR more than any gifts or words, in my opinion!)

x Other Little Things – Tom’s chip-cooking routine (fact: whenever he’s making them, he always prepares a little extra bowlful for me!); Alice Cooper’s Cold Ethyl; dreaming of visiting Nepal (oh, who am I kidding? I’m constantly dreaming of visiting EVERYWHERE!); stuffing my face full of strawberries; scoring free dessert at Collaroy’s Dragonfly restaurant (weird! I’m not sure if it’s because I’d been discussing food bloggers and had a camera lying on the table – which the owner commented on! – or because I’d wiped down the table and cleaned up after myself. Either way, thanks guys!); surprising my father at his workplace (a recommended activity); and experimenting with new beauty products! (As trivial as it sounds, I’d forgotten how sublime it can be to discover a new blush or mascara which actually WORKS!)

Scarf As a necklace, how to wear a scarf as a necklace, scarf necklace

headscarf-new4headscarf, how to wear a headscarf1

Suggestions For The Week Ahead 

x Grab an accessory and showcase it an unexpected way. Could you thread a scarf around your neck and wear it as an unusual, eye-catching necklace? Remove the belt from a pair of pants and place it over your favourite sweater to accenctuate your waist?

x Support my friend Alex in her quest to fight global poverty by donating to her 40 Hour Famine project! (She’s giving up food for 40 hours to raise money for people who are chronically hungry and living in poverty. How amazing is she?! I’m contributing now!)

HAPPY WEEKEND! How was your week? What do you love? What can’t you absolutely get enough of? (Ooh, how I love a rhyme!)

xoxo

11 responses to “Thank Frock It’s Friday! ♥

  1. Wow!!! That Myer show sounds so cool – I read about it and was so impressed 🙂 I can’t believe (well I can believe it) you get to be there in the front row! Go, you!

    Congrats on your anniversary 🙂 You and your Tom sound so good together – so glad he makes you so happy – he sounds like a keeper xo

  2. Yay for you and Tom! I mean, the man even has a chip making routine, he’s a keeper!

    I’m getting amped this week about party planning, our engagement party is in less than a month and I’m planning a carnival themed baby shower for my friend at the end of October! Exciting

  3. Aww you and Tom are so cute together 😀 Happy 7th anniversary n_n.

    This week:

    – Having a pizza filled day at the office

    – Hanging out with my sis and niece and taking 355 pictures od the later

    – My dad getting me the DSLR of my dreams as a belated birthday present (!!!)

    – Having awesome white chocolate with one of my friends

  4. Very sweet post 🙂

    I’m absolutely thrilled for you on the front row seat situation! Excellent – flying the flag for bloggers! 🙂

    And you and your boy look so sweet together.

  5. 7 Years! Congratulations – how wonderful xx

  6. Happy anniversary! xox

  7. Congrats on 7 years! You guys look so cute together! We’ll be hitting 3 in November!

  8. wow! your first fashion show!! congrats!! (and of course on the 7 years, yayyyy!!!)

  9. Happy 7 Year Anniversary!

    I’m so jealous that you are going to your first fashion show and front row too 🙂 Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  10. Urgh! You guys are adorable.

    And go girl on the fashion show invite. It’s all champagne from here on in.

    Tip? There are haughty bitches who won’t take their goody bag. Just grab and run baby. I took three from menswear this year. Mr Smaggle has SO much shaving gel.

    🙂

  11. Yay for lovely Toms (I have one too)! That scarf necklace is a cracker idea ❤

Leave a Reply

