Thank Frock It’s Friday! ♥

confettisparkleIf you’re clicking here for the first time, WELCOME! Every Friday we celebrate the fact that – ding, ding! – it’s Friday, and our favourite things (a fresh bouquet of flowers? Mouse traps?! Okay, it’s probably not the latter…) from the week that was. Here’s what I’m currently loving!

x My 24th Birthday – I TURNED 24 YESTERDAY! Pretty scary, huh?! For a girl who still feels 18 99.9% of the time, a teensy bit! (Well, until I spluttered that out loud and a guy in his sixties snorted at me ”oh, yeah. It must be sooo difficult to be in your twenties” *insert sarcastic eye roll here*, that is. Then I just kind of felt like a jerk!)

Thai food was gobbled, an excellent day was had and I’m beginning to think that there really is some truth to the whole ”the older you get, the better you feel” theory. (Even though I still feel 18, I know that I definitely wouldn’t want to be 18 again, you know? You know!)

IMAG0053

(Do I look any older?!)

x The Possibility Of Having An Intern – Did somebody say ”www.nervewracking.com”?! I have been, although to be honest, my immediate thoughts were actually ”but who would want to bang keys and bop along to The Village People all day with me?!” Kirstie, a lovely-sounding lass who’s currently studying journalism at a university in Sydney, has asked if she can come and do work experience with me in the next couple of weeks, and although I’m sort of panicking over the logistics of it, I’m thinking that it could be one INTERESTING opportunity! (What do you think? Should we do it? Considering that I was pestering Sam Winter to do the same thing a couple of years ago and she was totally wonderful about it, I’m leaning towards ”yes!”)

x Self-Expression & Honesty – Goodness, where should I start? I’m not sure, but can I just say that I’m always extremely, extremely impressed when somebody puts themselves out there and reveals how they feel? Seriously, it’s one of my favourite things in the WORLD! (As strange as it may sound, nothing impresses me more.)

x Other Little Things – Insanely sweet blogging feedback (I met a woman today who very kindly told me that she and her daughter – shock! – loved Frock & Roll. I was so surprised and caught off guard that all I could do was thank her and run away. I’m sorry, Tamie!); receiving an e-mail from the delightful Vanessa of Nessbow (have you seen her blog? It’s a treat!) which completely made my day; A Perfect Circle’s 3 Libras; Shakira’s Ojos Asi (namely because it’s superb music to practice belly dancing to, but also for the cuter-than-cute lyrics: ”tearing down windows and doors, but I could not find eyes like yours”? Be-au-tiful! In non-musical news… WHY am I becoming such a sucker for romance in my old age? Jeez!); successful cooking experiments (I somehow managed to bake a carrot and feta lasagne on Sunday night without setting fire to the apartment. WOO!); Mona Vale Library’s free wifi iniative (terrific!); really, really adorable boys who buy you birthday chocolates (thank-you!); and small, slow-spreading smiles… because sometimes, they’re the ones which reveal precisely how delighted you actually are!

Suggestions For The Week Ahead

Oh, gossip, gossip, gossip. Aren’t we all occasionally the subject of it? (For the record, we are!) Just remember next time someone says something slightly shitty, though, that regardless of how irritating the situation is, you’ve endured FAR more than a few pesky words. This is nothing! Shrug, throw your hands up and opt to laugh over the silliness of it all. The quicker you realise how ridiculous it all is, the better you’ll feel!

x Use the ”good stuff”. Don’t wait for a special occasion to use your most beautiful things! Wear your most resplendent frock (or suit) to breakfast. Drag out the fancy-schmancy birthday present alcohol and swill it on an ordinary evening. Life ITSELF is a pretty darn good occasion, so celebrate it as often as you can!

Happy, happy Friday! How was your week? I hope it’s been an exceptional one!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

